Photos of our Life ~~ Sheila & Ed

Textures

Original per Julie's request.

The theme is Textures.  I chose this particular picture because of the many textures it represents.

1.  The area surrounding the Geyser is very crusted with calcium;

2.  The texture of the trees;

3.  The textures in the mountains; and

4.  The softness of the clouds.

I have processed in Photoshop with a technique taught by Scott Kelby at a workshop I went to recently in Boston, it is a way to make it look like HDR but not be HDR.

We are on our way to a very Picturesque New Year!

22 responses

  1. danudin

    Welcome fellow Member of the “D”ynamic group, that starts the year off with the right texture, You gotta Love the wide open spaces, gives texture to living.

    January 1, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    • Thanks Ron – I’m really looking forward to this!

      January 1, 2010 at 3:51 pm

  2. Sheila, this is lovely! The clarity and depth of color really are wonderful. I’m going to learn a lot from being in your blogging group, I can tell!

    Happy blogging!

    January 1, 2010 at 4:17 pm

  3. Thanks Val – I’m looking forward to all comments – Nice ones are great and critical ones are appreciated too! That’s how I learn.

    January 1, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  4. Nan

    Great picture for the theme! Looking forward to being in the group with you and all the others. Here’s to a great New Year with lots of great pictures!

    January 1, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    • Thanks Nan – I think everyone is off to a great start!

      January 2, 2010 at 8:01 am

  5. Hi Sheila, the contrasts with the textures is nice. Looks like a great place for pictures.

    January 1, 2010 at 11:51 pm

  6. Tammy McChesney

    Glad to see you back Sheila! :) This is such a beautiful scene, and the psuedo HDR really brings out all of the different textures, I think you covered tons! Nice!

    January 2, 2010 at 1:21 am

    • Thanks Tammy – It’s great to be back on the trail again!

      January 2, 2010 at 8:00 am

  7. What a beautiful image to begin the Challenge with! The processing is fabulous but the picture itself is amazing. Where was this taken? I also really like all the details you presented. It is going to be a great year, isn’t it?!

    January 2, 2010 at 9:57 am

    • Thanks Madelaine – the picture was taken in Yellowstone National Park this past summer. I took 14,000 pictures this past summer so some of those will be used during this photo walk. I think it’s going to be a fabulous year!

      January 2, 2010 at 10:26 am

  8. Hi Sheila,
    Awesome photo! Love all those textures. The clouds look soft enough to lay on. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

    January 2, 2010 at 10:15 am

    • Thanks Sherrie – the clouds do look like cotton puff balls.

      January 2, 2010 at 10:27 am

  9. Hello Sheila,
    I’m a newbie so you will not get critical remarks from me.
    Just happy to be here and look forward to learning from you. I love Yellowstone and it’s a great picture.
    John

    January 2, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    • John,

      Please don’t be afraid to say what you think – we need all perspectives – you might see something in a way that I don’t.

      I think that Yellowstone is one of the prettiest places I have ever been.

      Sheila

      January 2, 2010 at 9:04 pm

      • I like to think of it as constructive feedback instead of critical remarks. And John, the feedback can be as simple as saying what part of the photo speaks to you. If you like the composition or the subject makes you smile point out that specific element. That sort of feedback helps us all realize what’s working in our shots.

        January 2, 2010 at 9:22 pm

  10. Thank you for the warm welcome Sheila! Wow, that is an awesome picture for the theme. I love the textures and that workshop must have been great, because it sure looks like HDR. :) /Viktoria – http://morrdrakensphotowalk.wordpress.com/

    January 2, 2010 at 7:04 pm

  11. Sheila – I really like how the barren foreground sucks you right into the rich layers of textures as your eyes get pulled through the trees, mountains and finally up to those magnificent fluffy clouds.

    January 2, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    • Thanks Karen –

      The different levels of texture were just so distinct in this picture that I just had to use it. I loved it before the pseudo HDR but HDR really brought it out.

      January 3, 2010 at 10:16 am

  12. It is truly a gorgeous scene with beautiful color and, of course, texture.

    I’m curious what the original looks like?

    January 4, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    • Thanks Julie – Shall I post it? In WordPress can I edit the post and add a second picture?

      January 4, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      • Julie I have posted the original – Sheila

        January 4, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Leave a Reply

